rendering cellar ceiling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i have been asked to render a cellar ceiling in sand and cement. i have a lot of experience plastering but never done this before.
i am concerned about how the render will "stick" to the ceiling any advise would be most helpful

Sponsored Links
Hi Finch,

What's the construction of the ceiling? Is it boards on joists or concrete?

If it's boards then I don't fancy your chances of the boards staying on with the weight of the render.

If however it's a concrete ceiling then a good coat of Thistle Bond It or Wickes (Knauf) Paster Bonding Agent with provide a good bond.

Why do they want it rendering anyway?

Regards

Fred

fred,
its a brick vaulted ceiling. the old render has been chipped off.
i was thinking of useing eml but didnt know if this was excessive. i heard that a slurry of pva and cement should be painted on first?

i have been asked to render a cellar ceiling in sand and cement. i have a lot of experience plastering but never done this before.
i am concerned about how the render will "stick" to the ceiling any advise would be most helpful
why sand and cement?

Sponsored Links
I imagine you need to do it in sand and cement because of concerns of dampness or condensation as you are in a cellar. You should never use bonding, hardwall etc in these applications, limelite, sand and cement etc only. Don't skim it either, get a nice sponge finish on it.

Find out first if damp is an issue, as there will be a slightly different mix and way of doing it., and possible seals around services needed. Don't use PVA, unless it is waterproof. SBR is the stuff to use with cement.

You will have no problems with it -sand and cement sticks to bricks whether on a wall, ceiling or floor.