renovation tender - ufh spec

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hiya,

i'm starting to put together a tender doc for a low energy bungalow renovation.

we plan on using a 240l break tank, 3 bar booster pump and viessmann vitodens 100w combi. we would like to use wet ufh on the 160 square meter ground floor and are currently thinking of using 3 zones and 3 towel rails also connected to the ufh system.

i was wondering what details you would include in a tender doc with regard to the ufh to avoid as much grief as possible?

i'm new to this stuff so apologies for general cluelessness!

crol

Sponsored Links
To avoid grief I would suggest you get a competent heating engineer to produce the specifications!

UFH works on about 40 C typically. That will be warm for the towel rails but not hot!

More relevant will be how you control the mix of radiators and UFH. It is not as simple as it may look!

Tony

thanks tony.

To avoid grief I would suggest you get a competent heating engineer to produce the specifications!

how detailed would those specifications be and how much would it cost roughly?

for the tender we're mostly concerned with ensuring we are comparing like for like on each of the renovation elements.

UFH works on about 40 C typically. That will be warm for the towel rails but not hot!

More relevant will be how you control the mix of radiators and UFH. It is not as simple as it may look!

we don't mind the towel rails only being warm as they will only be used to dry towels and there will be no other radiators.

i was hoping to use weather compensation for the ufh in combination with room thermostats to help prevent overheating but this is just based on what i've read online.

crol

we don't mind the towel rails only being warm as they will only be used to dry towels and there will be no other radiators.