1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replace existing programmer with nest 3rd gen

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by banthorpe, 30 Aug 2019.

  1. banthorpe

    banthorpe

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have a Boulter Camray 5 oil boiler with a basic programmer. No room thermostat. Replacing with Nest 3rd gen.

    Current controller has L, N, HW on, CH on connections. Nothing is connected to HW OFF or CH off.

    From my understanding, after connecting L and N to Heat link I connected CH on to 3 (call for heat) and HW on to 6 (call for water). Also added link from L to 2 and 4 (common).

    Note old programmer removed.

    When I power up the boiler comes on but this didn't happen on old programmer. So I swapped 3 and 6 for 1 and 4 and it still came on.

    Any ideas? Can't find details on how the old programmer worked so it's probably something simple.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    13,539
    Thanks Received:
    4,282
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nest HW on (6) to terminal 4 on boiler at JP8
    Nest CH on (3) to terminal 1 on boiler at JP8
    you have two wires connecting to the orange wire should only be 1?
     
    Last edited: 30 Aug 2019
  4. banthorpe

    banthorpe

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. I assume that the old programmer was not connected to same terminals? Current programmer is in a different room from boiler so the wires you see on the back of it are to another cable which routes back to the boiler. I'd like to put the heat link in the same place so wanted to use those wires if possible.
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    13,539
    Thanks Received:
    4,282
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can put the heat link there no problem
     
  6. banthorpe

    banthorpe

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would old programmer be connected to the same boiler terminals?
     
  7. banthorpe

    banthorpe

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just looked and jp8 is connected as above.

    So last check - is the live link to the common terminals on the heat link correct or not needed?
     
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    13,539
    Thanks Received:
    4,282
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no need for any links
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page