Replacing a ceiling switch with a PIR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Im a bit of a novice (I know people will say "you need a qualified electrictian") so here goes

I have a single light in my bathroom with a normal ceiling pull switch. I have purchased a pir to replace it, I know they recommend keeping a switch but it is useless as it is behind the door and too much hassle to change.

I have the usual Live(brown), Neutral(blue), earth (green&yellow) attached to the switch but looking at the PIR it asks for a Live in and Live out.

I know that the live out would be the switched live but as I do not have a switched live only a permanent l, n and e which are all connected I want to know...

1) Can I connect the PIR in the place of the switch without a switched live?
2) is there anyway of having the full functioning PIR without having to add another wire to act as switched live?

Thanks for your time

Sponsored Links
Hi all,

Im a bit of a novice (I know people will say "you need a qualified electrictian")
You need a qualified electrician.

OR

You need to learn how lighting circuits work, because at the moment you don't, and your mistaken ideas are likely to bite you on the bum.

//www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:lighting

I have a single light in my bathroom with a normal ceiling pull switch. I have purchased a pir to replace it,
It'll drive you mad.

I know they recommend keeping a switch
Do they say why?

Is ignoring their recommendation going to be a good idea?

but it is useless as it is behind the door and too much hassle to change.
You may find yourself changing your opinion on that.

I have the usual Live(brown), Neutral(blue), earth (green&yellow)
No you don't, you have the usual permanent live, switched live and earth.

looking at the PIR it asks for a Live in and Live out.
Does it also ask for a neutral?

Because you don't have one of those at the switch, so if it does it won't work.