Replacing all the plaster in a house - is this feasible?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've recently bought a new house, which I have yet to move into.

The surveyor said that the plaster in the house is in a very poor condition throughout.

I was thinking of getting someone to come in and redo the plaster throughout the house.

Given that I am new to the home ownership business, I'd like to know if its normal to replaster a whole house in one go?

If so, given that the house has got 8 rooms, does anyone have any idea of how long it would take, if I got a professional in, and how much it would cost?

Thanks in advance to anyone who answers.

Sponsored Links
Given the possible re-plastering costs proposed, perhaps, it would pay you to post some pics of the failing plaster - walls and ceilings. Pics of the exterior elevations, odd tho it may seem, would also help us to comment.

Was any mention made of damp plaster?

Given the possible re-plastering costs proposed, perhaps, it would pay you to post some pics of the failing plaster - walls and ceilings. Pics of the exterior elevations, odd tho it may seem, would also help us to comment.

Thanks for yout interest.

I'm going to get some photos on Monday.

There was no mention of damp plaster, and no mention of damp generally. However the surveyor said the plaster was very old, and was blown in some places. He also said that when you knocked on it, it made a hollow sound.

Looking at the walls today, they seemed to be in reasonable shape, although there were some hollow noises here and there where the plaster had seemingly blown.

There were a few cracks here or there in the walls and in the ceiling. I've included photos.

Should I have all the plaster in my house replaced or should I just have some remedial work done to the cracked and blown areas?

Sponsored Links
There were a few cracks here or there in the walls and in the ceiling. I've included photos.