Replacing Circulating Pump?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hopefully someone can offer some tips, I'm a bit of a noob to central heating systems and the missus is getting pretty stressed about the lack of hot water....

I have a 1982 Ideal Concord WCF 240B and a Myson CP53 circulating pump. The boiler is firing when cold, and only lasting for a few minutes before turning itself off. This isn't enough to heat the water. Unfortunately this was initially misdiagnosed as a faulty thermostat which was replaced along with the thermocouple. However the situation is now exactly the same as before these were replaced.

The hot water tank is now pretty much stone cold, so I fired the boiler for a couple of minutes, this heated the hot water pipe which fed through to the circulating pump. The pipe running out of the circulating pump stayed cold. I thought I could take a look at whether the mechanism had seized but I wasn't familiar with the hexagonal nut on the front of the pump, I was expecting a wide slot which I could bleed it with and check if it was seized. When I did undo it a small amount of dark coloured water came out but couldn't really work out how to tell if it had seized.

I'm not confident about replacing the pump myself and have heard that Myson's are pretty rubbish, can anyone recommend a replacement pump and does the diagnosis that it isn't working sound plausible? Anything else I can check? How long would you suggest it would take to change? Any other tips for fault finding?

Any help greatly appreciated :D

Sponsored Links
I don't think so, I just assumed it would go off at the same time as the hot water as the heating can't be put on independently. The controls on the timer don't allow it.

I'll give it a go though, thanks.

I think it'll take a while to come on as the tank is stone cold now, it's been off for about 5 days.

Any tips on a recommendations for a replacement pump if that was the case?

Sponsored Links