Replacing Wire from House to Garage

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by brooky_agb, 2 Nov 2011.

  1. brooky_agb

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Folks,

    A lorry hit a wire going from the house to the garage a few months back when we had an extention done. Please see attached picture. I don't think the wire is damaged and the one that supports it was already down.

    Can anyone tell me what kind of electrical cable I should buy to replace it with and what junction boxes I should use on each side to connect the new wire up to the existing ones?

    It's a simple job I just want to make sure I have the right bits.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,210
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need catenary wire to support the new cable

    Please login (registration is free!) to view this link.
    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Cable_Accessories_Index/Catenary_Wire/index.html


    Then use hituff cable

    Please login (registration is free!) to view this link.
    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Cable_Accessories_Index/Catenary_Wire/index.html


    (As Holmslaw has just posted, but here are the links)
     
  4. brooky_agb

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wonderful. Thanks folks!! :) Ideally I would dig a trench and lay an armoured cable but thats going to be expensive!

    I'll go ahead and order that stuff.
     
  5. brooky_agb

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The garage has about 4 double sockets a few lights and two exterior lights. Is 1.5mm 3 core cable suitable? The sockets will never all be used at once.
     
  6. brooky_agb

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll get the 2.5mm 3 core. Thanks again.
     
  7. JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    31,189
    Thanks Received:
    1,974
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  8. Monkeh

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,149
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is NYY-J not suitable?
     
  9. brooky_agb

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks folks. I decided to dig up the drive and use this:
    Please login (registration is free!) to view this link.
    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Cable_Accessories_Index/Catenary_Wire/index.html
     
  10. OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,210
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,286
    Thanks Received:
    212
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or at least go down to the builers merchant and get some civils ducting and put that in, and then the cable can be renewed at later date if ever required
     

Share This Page