Residual wallpaper paste - Please help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

Just moved into new home which is about three years old. I'm not very good at DIY but determined to do the best job I can in decorating my lad's room.

I stripped off the wallpaper which came off fairly easily and underneath the walls had been painted pink previously - the walls now just look like clean painted walls although in pink which is not my lad's taste in colour!. I cleaned the walls with some sugar soap and water and the walls feel very slippery even with clean water after a few rinses.

I'm paranoid there's still residual wallpaper paste there and if I paint the walls then the paint is just going to peel and not stick.

No matter how much I wash the walls they still seem slippery when wet - there's no obvious visual paper paste on the walls - does anyone know if I'm just being over cautious or is there a method to make sure I remove all traces of the paste before painting.

Thanks,

NS

Sponsored Links
If you've got the dosh, look at Zinsser Gardz.

Thanks for advice - I can't seem to get hold of Zinsser Gardz anywhere apart from online. I spoke to a guy at a decorating store who asked me what I wanted it for and he advised he'd probably not bother with Gardz and just paint the walls anyway.

Some people have suggested hot water and a scraper but I've tried this and nothing scrapes off - any residual paste seems to be locked onto the wall. The wall just feels a bit slimy when I rub a cloth or sponge over it.

I tried a Dulux tester pot on a small part of the wall last night and I think it did seem to react a little bit in places with the residual paste - either that or the paint in the tester pot isn't proper paint.

I might try some fabric conditioner with some hot water tonight as some people suggest that.

DIY Novice!

Sponsored Links