1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Rewiring switch to ‘always on’

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Rystar00, 16 Dec 2019.

  1. Rystar00

    Rystar00

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    41881DBD-B9E2-4482-A3D7-F4F631808E0A.jpeg 2A77D588-4089-47A9-A411-AC1BA46901B9.jpeg B7E6708B-1EAA-42D7-84AA-34DD5E50A67A.jpeg 65A644B2-A224-4759-8E42-18413AC57D52.jpeg I’m hoping for some electrical advice. I’m happy to turn my hand to most things but I always like to check anything to do with electrics!

    I have two 2-way switches in my kitchen (switch 1) and in my lounge (switch 2). I would like to wire switch 1 so that my outside lights are always on so I can replace switch 2 with a smart WIFI switch.

    Switch 1

    Here is a pic of switch 1 in my kitchen. The left switch controls cabinet lighting (not connected). The middle switch controls kitchen overhead lights. The right switch controls the outside lights.

    Switch 2

    Here is a pic of switch 2. Which one is the neutral wire please (I need to identify that for the smart switch!)
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,126
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Need better pictures.

    Both lighter and showing where ALL the wires are terminated.
     
  4. Rystar00

    Rystar00

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    E81A3DFA-2489-4FFC-8D73-FA6F78044BF8.jpeg 1687976B-16A1-46DA-9669-39DCDFD3DC23.jpeg 60CB2EF3-DE61-4343-B2B3-CC782826394E.jpeg 6FF86DA8-0AD1-40E4-B8C6-063DE238657C.jpeg 656F8D7B-A9BD-4DA7-AD58-AC466C4BFBBD.jpeg

    Thanks very much for replying!

    Please see attached - hopefully these are better?
     
  5. Risteard

    Risteard

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Derry, Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    Very poor work whoever connected those.

    Also in of them the backbox isn't earthed.
     
  6. Rystar00

    Rystar00

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks very much for replying.

    Could you kindly make some suggestions for me to correct the issue?

    Better to correct the issue first and then achieve the goal of my original post second!
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,126
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It is still not clear.

    If this is the switch that you want to alter -
    upload_2019-12-17_13-56-42.png

    then the right hand switch is not wired for two-way.
    The left one is so have you got that the wrong way round?

    Also the latest pictures now show that the switch you want to change to a smart one is an 'intermediate' switch which means it is three-way switching set-up so still would not do what you want.
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,126
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Plus - connect all green/yellow wires to the back boxes terminal

    OR

    if you use metal switches connect them to the switches earth terminal.
     
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,126
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Another plus - there is no neutral at the intermediate switch.

    BUT - you might be able to get one there if things are as they appear.

    However, I am not sure that it would be wise to tell you or possible to get the necessary information from you if you really don't understand what you are doing. An electrician would be a much better bet.
     
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    32,126
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've just realised the intermediate switch is wired incorrectly.

    It should have the Greys on one side and Blacks on the other side, one cable to one end, the other cable to the other end.
     
    Last edited: 17 Dec 2019
  12. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Superglue the switch or connect the line and load in a chock block inside. Simples
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page