Roller pulls old paint off

Reaction score
Country
Croatia
I've never had much luck with roller painting but so many people seem to use this technique that I gave it another go today. My usual problem is I get a poor finish, like a mild version of artex. The more I roll it, the worse the coverage until I end up taking most of the paint off again. I suppose it could be that I've only tried cheap rollers as I don't want to spend a lot of money on something I won't be able to use.
My house here in Hungary is constructed a bit different to those in UK. From what I can make out, the walls are plastered on the inside and outside with the same mortar mix. Outside they then get painted with masonry paint, inside they get painted with several coats of thinly mixed plaster of Paris and you end up with something that approximates to a plastered finish.
As I started painting with the roller, slabs of the plaster of Paris were being sucked off the surface, broken up and redistributed over the rest of the wall. I had to abandon the roller, scrape off the flakes and carry on painting with a brush. No further lifting if the surface occurred using the brush. Any advice much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Roller technique is something that comes with a little practice, the main thing to do is work in straight lines working each one into the next making sure the paint is rolled out well and even while making sure not to over roll, also make sure the roller is still spinning while you remove it from the wall.

As for the problems you are experiencing it may well be that the original layer of whatever has been put on the walls was done badly, but without knowing exactly what was used and what you are using it is hard to say what the problem is for definite.

I do remember going to Spain with my dad a few years ago now and he done some work and the paint was a strange chalky consistency, does it seem to be like this?