Rollers vs Pads

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

Have just bought our first house and we would like to paint the interior walls (they are all Magnolia at the moment). I am a DIY novice and would value anybody's opinion on which decorating tools to use.

Which are best for painting - rollers or pads?

I keep seeing ads on the dodgy shopping channels for the Tuxedo painting system, where the paint is actually in the roller. Does anybody have any experience with these? Are they any good?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi Fournil

In my experience rollers cover large areas faster than pads. But then pads can get into the corners better. Though I've seen rollers with plastic shields on one side for painting close to skirting/architrave etc. (Woolworths, Wilkinson) I've never used these but they look like they might save time.

If using a roller it will give off a shower of tiny splatters. So make sure you cover EVERYTHING you don't want painted including any near by windows. (Though paint splatters on glass can be removed after with a blade). The rollers you use with emulsion tend to give a very slightly textured finish, whereas pads will be smoother.

If you need to give two coats you can wrap the roller in cling film overnight, so it saves washing it out. From experience- wash out the tray thoroughly if using the next day as any bits of paint left will harden and be transferred onto the wall.

I've never used the tuxedo painting system, so can't comment.

Amanda ;)

Hi amandaeb

Thanks for the advice. I've got a lot of walls to paint so it looks like Rollers are the best option. I liked the advice about the tray, never occured to me like that.

I can't find anybody who has used the Tuxedo paint system, at £30 it is pricey, but if it does the job half as well as the the advertising says it might just be worth it.

Cheers
Fournil