SBR help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a novice when it comes to renders/exterior masonry work but I’m forced to fix things myself on this occasion! So any help appreciated

It’s an old stone building with what I think is originally a lime/pebble render, with many layers of paint (both water based and oil)

I’ve had to dig out and repair some cracks in the gable wall, over the skews and round the chimneys, using a mucture if cement and silicone type sealant (OB1)

I’m hoping I’ve done a good job, I’ve been pressure washing the surface too to remove moss and there had been blistering paint full of water so I’m trying to get all that loose paint off too, but might be hard to get it all off. Then I plan to chloris tge walls to remove and mould spores.

Was originally just going to repaint it at this stage, but someone suggested SBR slurry…

They says you can mix a paint on mixture of SBR, cement and something to make it flexible which will seal/waterproof, bridge and smaller cracks I miss, and give a good new surface for the new paint…

Can anyone confirm or advise on this? Abd give me more details on the mix and application?

Cheers

Attachments

• E1EDF2FC-6AC9-4CA2-9B10-B37B7C919AC3.jpeg
    E1EDF2FC-6AC9-4CA2-9B10-B37B7C919AC3.jpeg
    628.2 KB · Views: 58
  • 99F08DCB-7809-4D6F-ACBB-0243766BB0AB.jpeg
    99F08DCB-7809-4D6F-ACBB-0243766BB0AB.jpeg
    503.2 KB · Views: 57
  • 113F9238-32BB-4948-AF8E-ABCBBEA3D6FC.jpeg
    113F9238-32BB-4948-AF8E-ABCBBEA3D6FC.jpeg
    712.7 KB · Views: 58
  • 6AD047D4-3D92-4AA9-8CD5-FF83571EA7DD.jpeg
    6AD047D4-3D92-4AA9-8CD5-FF83571EA7DD.jpeg
    454.8 KB · Views: 59
Sponsored Links
Your doing as so many others do by trying to seal walls that are built to breath.