Shower pump plumbing conundrum...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all. Just signed up to the site for some assistance as I'm a rank amateur (with a reasonable amount of DIY sense I think) who is about to embark on a project to refit my bathroom.

I'm having to do much more than I envisaged at first as I've been told I need to rip out pretty much all of the existing pipework as it is the original, galvanised steel, imperial pipes that have no place in a fresh installation in 2019 apparently ..

So the multi tool will be coming out and its all going. I'm going to replace with both copper and speed fit pipe work. All appliances are moving to different positions so there's a lot to do.

My main conundrum at the moment is to do with the pipework for the shower pump that I want to fit. My setup is as follows:

Vented gravity fed system
Cold tank in loft
Hot cylinder downstairs
New shower in bathroom upstairs
Previously only had a bath

What I'd like to do is have the pump under the bath in the bathroom (head end where there's room under the slope of the bath). I want to do this so that the noise of the pump won't be heard in the living room (where the airing cupboard is).

I'm told I need to have an anti gravity loop (250mm drop) straight out of the Surrey flange. Is this right? Am I then OK to go straight up through the floor boards to the bathroom (bath directly above hot water cylinder) and in to the pump? Does the hot feed from the Surrey flange to the pump need to also pick up the vent? I don't think so but have seen that mentioned somewhere by someone whose pump has stopped working.

My flow of both hot and cold is reasonably good I think. Will I be ok to install a twin impeller, 1.5 to 1.8 bar pump in this location (below cold tank but above hot cylinder)?? Will be so many other issues as I progress with the project. But this is the one currently troubling me.

Any help gratefully received, thanks in advance...

Sponsored Links