Skirts and flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
AFAIK, there are two main methods of laying laminate (floating) floors viz.

(a) Use quadrant/moulding to cover the expansion gap

(b) Remove skirting and then hide the expansion gap under the skirting

In the case of option (b), what happens when you need to repair/replace the floor?

What I mean by that is are there any methods of attaching skirting which make it easier for future removal?

I am sure the answer is NO but thought I'd ask all you experts.

Thanks,

B

Sponsored Links
In the case of option (b), what happens when you need to repair/replace the floor?

What I mean by that is are there any methods of attaching skirting which make it easier for future removal?

I am sure the answer is NO but thought I'd ask all you experts.

Thanks,

B

I'm not an expert, and I've not fixed skirting with removal in mind, but I have fixed a lot of skirting. If you fix the skirting with screws and plugs, and record where the screws are before you fill the holes, you could subsequently dig the filler out and unscrew the screws. You could also put something over the screw heads before filling the holes, to avoid filling the slots with filler, which would make it easier to unscrew them in the future.

Although I have fitted skirting with Gripfill and had to remove it when making alterations, and it wasn't too hard to lever it from the wall...

Cheers
Richard

Thanks Richard.

I do prefer to screw the skirting to the wall (as opposed to gripfill) and I know what you mean about being able to locate the screwholes and digging out the filler.

I was hoping there might be an alternative method to make subsequent skirting removal easier but it looks like there isn't.

Thanks agin,

B

I have a section of skirting in my shower room that I've not got round to fixing at all - that comes out easily enough :mrgreen:

Cheers
Richard

Sponsored Links
Get a decent laminate which won't need repairing.