Small Garden Retainer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am just about to tackle small retaining wall approx 400mm h x 250-300mm w x 8m long. It includes a curve at one end(bend radius 1.5m) and a small L shape at the other end.

I have dug a foundation trench about 300mm deep, 450mm wide and semi filled with old bricks as bulk.

The purpose of the wall is to retain soil from a patio and also act as a bench around the patio. I have opted to build the wall in concrete block or brick and finish with painted render and 300mm wide patio slabs as coping. I do have access to a pile of 1950's house bricks which seem fairly heavy/dense.

I also intend to use some conduit as drainage in 1m intervals.

As a complete novice and youngster I obviously have a few questions I can not answer!

1. Is it recommended/ok to bulk out foundation using old house bricks?
2. Can I use the same house bricks to build the wall?? if so, how do I arrange them? Do I need a cavity?
3. How should I insert the conduit for drainage?
4. Can I render the soil side of the wall or will it be too damp?

Any help would be much appreciated. :D I can take pics if needs be.

Regards,

Alex

Sponsored Links
[quote="bluegolfmonkey"
1. Is it recommended/ok to bulk out foundation using old house bricks?

no.

2. Can I use the same house bricks to build the wall?? if so, how do I arrange them? Do I need a cavity?

it will depend on the type of brick. if they are of engineering standard, then yes, if they are say londons then i wouldn't advise it. they need to be laid solid twin skin no cavity with maybe a header course midway.

3. How should I insert the conduit for drainage?

we use cut off pieces of 63mm square gutter down pipe as it sits nicely in a standard metric course and is large enough not to clog up easily.

4. Can I render the soil side of the wall or will it be too damp?

yes you can.

Any help would be much appreciated. :D I can take pics if needs be.

Regards,

Alex[/quote]