Smallest bedroom in house is the coldest.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Having moved into a relatively new build (just over a year) as the second owners, I'm finding that a lot of the workmanship is quite poor, not that I'm an expert but it's plain to see.

If they have been so slap dash about things I can see, I'm wondering what they have done or not be the case elsewhere.

Now winter is upon us, I'm noticing the two back bedrooms are noticably colder than the front.

The outer walls are colder to the touch and my son has the small bedroom at the back but it just never seems to get very hot.

Would there be any obvious reason for this, perhaps the never insulated the back of the house properly, is that a possibility.

Lived in a similar house before but over 20yrs old knocked up in 5 mins by Wimpey yet my sons bedroom was roasting, again that was the smallest bedroom.

The only rooms in the house where you don't need the rads flat out seem to be the living room which is at the front and front bedroom which is above it, both these rooms have you reaching to turn the rad down where the rears have you looking to see if they can go round twice.

Sponsored Links
Could be the rads arent properly sized ...might get away with system balancing. ..Truth is there are no Skilled Conciencious trades on New Build ...because the developers screw the prices to the floor . And us Good Guys were happy to work in maintenance /repair for £ess...but I slept @ night :rolleyes: .Don`t pay the bills tho` .It`s the result of a Free Market Economy. :rolleyes:

If, after considering the rad-balacing and sun issues already mentioned, you are still unhappy, in your position, I would ascertain either from house-plans if you have any, or literature relating the new-build house if they make any specific claims about insulation i.e. more than regs require.