Solar panel heating Help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

First things first, I’d like to say this looks to be a great forum. There are some very interesting topics on here, and some very clued up people giving out priceless advice. Hopefully I’ve come to the write place.

I am currently in my final year at Manchester Metropolitan University studying for a degree in mechanical engineering. For my final year project, I have been given the task of coming up with some kind of back up system for a household immersion heater. This system must “green” powered using an array of solar powered photovoltaics (PV). :cool:

In the aim of getting a good mark, I’ve decided to look into installing a small DIY system to my home for testing purposes. But have come across a major stumbling block as I can’t seem to find a heating element or device that can be powered using such a low wattage give off from a small solar panel. I’ve searched high and low but have had no luck. I was wondering if any of the geniuses on here could point me in the direction.

Any help would be very helpful and much appreciated,

Thank you,
Stuart

Sponsored Links
bog standard domestic solar panels will only produce something around 12-24 volts. So unless you are prepared to use a 3-4000 watt inverter and a couple of massive deep cycle batteries and wire it up to that then you'll not get enough voltage or current to get a standard imersion element doing it's job....

You could try one of those little things that plugs into a car lighter socket that keeps yer cup of tea warm? put the wholoe unit in yer tank and plug the plug onto a solar panel :evil:

Or you could try wiring 10 24 volt panels in series and see what melts / sparks. :evil:

Then once you've tried that, maybe paint a radiator black, mount it in a frame, out a layer of glass in front of it, screw the lot to your roof and connect the in/oout pipes to yer hot water tank - it's the only way you'll get even lukewarm water....