Soundproofing wood floors to appease our neighbour

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, this is my first post, so be gentle - I'm a total novice!

First up, a bit of info about the place I've got. It's a 1-bed Victorian conversion flat in a 4-story house. We're on the ground floor. We're only going to be here for a few years so we don't want to spend huge sums doing it up.

So, first question. I'd really like to strip our very nice floorboards.

Problem: Our neighbour in the basement flat (the only renter in our friendly building) constantly moans about the noise. Fair enough - currently we've got a rubbish, cheap beige carpet with no underlay (and some boards will need replacing) so it's currently insufficient. However, we feel she's excessively moany - we're really quiet and considerate, don't wear shoes in the house, have the tv on quiet etc etc - and the fact is, we can hear our neighbour upstairs and he can hear the guys in the attic flat as well. The rest of us deal with it fine; she goes on about her insomnia and moans that we get up at 7 and don't always go to bed by 11. :LOL:

Soundproofing: From all the stuff I've read about soundproofing, it sounds incredibly complex, with very little hope of success unless you spend a fortune.

We're just not willing to fork out a lot of money for full-blown soundproofing. We feel that all the rest of us manage to live in harmony and we can't spend all that money on someone who's obviously over-sensitive to sound.

So, my question is (sorry this is so long!), what can we do that will muffle the noise to a reasonable level? Basically, if we don't strip the floorboards, we'd simply replace the squeaky boards (or screw down), get some thick underlay and stick down some carpet/seagrass. So as long as we do something that would produce a similar muffling effect, I feel we'll have done as much as can be expected (maybe you disagree? let me know).