SPLIT: Rising damp?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a surveyor, but not a building surveyor so I am not qualified to diagnose damp problems in residential property. I do, however, look at commercial properties all the time in the course of my job as a valuer and have therefore seen a lot of dodgy damp walls.

My take on this is that rising damp can exist, but rarely (if ever) starts on its own and is usually caused be the wall becoming damp through another cause first.

I am intrigued by the picture of a brick column standing in water and the damp not rising above the first course. In a perfectly dry atmosphere using "soft" water that is a plausible experiment. However this kind of situation rarely exists in real life.

In most parts of the UK exposed external brick walls are subject to driving rain or overflowing gutters often soaking the wall from top to bottom. So a better version of the experiment for UK building condtions would be as follows:

Build the brick column with soft absorbant UK style external bricks and usual sand and cement mortar. Stand it in a tray filled with "hard" London ground water laden with disolved calcium, magnesium and sodium carbonates. Spray the column with water continuously for about 2-3 hours until it is soaked through - both mortar and bricks - to mimic the effect of driving rain or over-flowing gutter.

See how quickly the wall dries out.

Repeat the experiment but this time with a DPC installed between the lower course and the rest of the column and see if it dries out any quicker.

Ideally repeat the water spraying weekly or so for a few years and see if the columns dry out more quickly or slowly over time.

Now I haven't tried this experiment myself, but I am pretty certain I know what will happen. I would be interested to know if anyone has tried this in real life.