1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Storm damage to phone line junction box

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by mike004, 26 Feb 2017.

  1. mike004

    mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My telephone line comes from a nearby telegraph pole and is attached externally at my roof eaves via a plastic junction box.
    The junction box has blown open in storm Doris, with wiring spilling out and open to the elements. Phone line is fine, though.

    Is this something that BT should fix?
    As I live in a bungalow, I don't mind getting up a ladder and stuffing the wiring back in and closing the junction box.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,568
    Thanks Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BTs problem ...
     
  4. mike004

    mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, Sparky.
    How long do you reckon they will take to come out and fix this?
     
  5. mike004

    mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just remembered.
    The people who replaced my fascia boards replaced and refitted the junction box.
    Hope the BT engineer doesn't notice this. It's officially BT property, I think.
     
  6. andyman5002

    andyman5002

    Joined:
    19 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're right it is BT's property. The whole line is.

    I bought a BT junction box / DP off ebay when I moved my phone line, its even branded as BT so they probably couldn't tell the difference! As long as its installed right...
     
  7. mike004

    mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fixed it myself.
    Just nipped up the ladder, pushed the wiring back into the box and closed the lid.
     
  8. simonpolly

    simonpolly

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    B.T Openreachs problem ,at worse the crimps/dropwire will be slightly corroded,openreach engineers love this type of fault as its a 2 minute fix and will not charge you.
    Of goes a happy openreach engineer who has just improved his days productivity :D
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page