Study lights flickering

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Looking for some assistance with my study lighting.
* I've attached a diagram of the layout at the bottom of the thread.

The problem started when the lights started to flicker, which then developed to virtually not being on at all - just random flickers of light.

I pulled apart the lights, switch, etc ... and can't find anything wrong, although have determined the power source is from the power socket circuit and not the lighting ring main.

Running a power meter on the light switch power feed it does fluctuate wildly, leading me to think its an ac feed.

Me not being an electrician I have the following questions:

1: From the diagram, the power feed into the light switch is in the following config;
Live into L, with out-going feed to lights in L1
The neutrals (incoming & outgoing) being grouped together in a terminal block
… is this ok? … as this has worked for some 2-3 years without issue!

2: Should there be an alternating current into a light switch?

3: Any idea what might be causing the lights to flicker?

It’s worth noting, since playing around with the lights they are not working at all now!
Power is not feeding from the switch to the lights :S

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Cheers
Meerkat
[/img]

Sponsored Links
Firstly, if you drawing is accurate, there should be a 3 Amp switch fused connection unit, preferably at the switch itself - there isn't.
Secondly, how are the lights connected together in series or parallel?
Thirdly have you checked the terminal connections at all the points in the circuit - you could have a loose or burnt out cable that has been causing the flickering.
If there are no problems here and you have a multi-meter check that you have continuity between each leg of the circuit -ensure the circuit is dead first.