supply to electric shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm fairly new to plumbing so tell me if this is not possible or if there's some reason it can't be done.

So, we're replacing our bathroom and getting a new electric shower (to replace the 1989 model that's in place). The current shower is fed from the water tank in the roofspace and the flow rate isnt great. Would it be possible to supply a new shower (thinking of this one http://www.screwfix.com/p/triton-manual-electric-shower-black-gloss-9-5kw/36058 ) straight off the mains incoming supply?

I am thinking about putting a T connector between the stopcock and the water tank and then running the T down to the shower supply.

So the mains would be coming in, one branch to the float valve and one branch straight to the shower.[/url]

Sponsored Links
Electric showers are usually mains water fed. Go for it.

You need an electrcian to check that the power cable is up to the new showers capabilty too.

Taking a feed direct from the rising main on an electric shower would be fine.

You may have issues electrically though, such as cable size for current demand and the additional protection of 30mA RCD on a circuit entering the bathroom.

Thanks.

There's a 9.5kw shower already in there so I'm just swapping one unit for the other, the electrics side of it is handy, just using the existing wiring. I thought I might as well 'fix' the water supply while i'm at it.

Sponsored Links
And what about RCD protection?
The manufacturers instruction will very likely state, that this additional protection should be in place. If not it will say that the current edition of BS7671 should be followed. Which will mean you require RCD protection.

Did you see the bit where I said I was replacing an existing 9.5kw electric shower with a new 9.5kw electric shower?

The wiring and rcd are fine.

What I find interesting is that someone connected an electric shower to a water tank.