1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Swapping Honeywell T6360 thermostat for Google best e

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Barry Heron, 25 Sep 2021.

  1. Barry Heron

    Barry Heron

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All,

    And thank you in advance for any of your help. I am looking to swap my existing Honeywell t6360 thermostat for a Google best thermostat e. The Google thermostat states it only needs two wires a common wire and an NO wire however when I take off the cover of my existing Honeywell thermostat I have various wires so not sure what goes where. I have included some pictures below of my existing wiring. I am assuming that the brown live wire currently attached to position 1 on my exisitng thermostat would be the common wire ? And the grey and black wires that are joined together and secured to position 3 on my existing thermostat would be the NO wires ? With the existing netural position 2 and earth wire not being need and can be isolated in blocks ? Not sure if that's how it would go.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,566
    Thanks Received:
    2,247
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, pretty much nailed it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Barry Heron

    Barry Heron

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Perfect thank you. I'll give it a bash then.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Barry Heron

    Barry Heron

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so I have given it a go as above. Isolated the heating breaker at the consumer unit. However when I go to turn the breaker back on it trips instantly. Any ideas ? Thanks IMG-20210925-WA0003.jpeg
     
  6. Colin Brenton

    Colin Brenton

    Joined:
    1 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I reasonably sure the device you are holding doesn't keep the neutral and earth leads apart, it actually connects them together.

    Get a second one, and put neutral into one of them, earth into the other, and try it again.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Barry Heron

    Barry Heron

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah I see it now they are linked thank you I'll go it a try.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Barry Heron

    Barry Heron

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your help guys that's it up and running
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page