Swapping old oil Aga for electric induction range - extraction question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, hoping to get some pointers on this conundrum..

We have an old 1970's oil fired Aga that's being removed, in its place will be a new electric induction Aga (lead time is 18 weeks so gives me some breathing space)..

Got a question on the extraction. I've got no professional trade background so apologies if this is a dumb question.

The current Aga has its fumes extracted as you'd expect via ducting, but it's on an internal wall and so the ducting heads up an internal path, through a concrete slab on the 'ceiling' of the Aga's inglenook, through the first floor (ducting is boxed in), through the loft & out of a vent on the roof.

Since there won't be any need for gas extraction after the electric Aga gets installed, would it be possible to repurpose the current fume ducting for the induction hob extraction? Everything I've read seems to say the maximum extraction length from a powered fan is around 5 metres, obviously getting the steam & smells out of the roof is a much longer stretch than 5 metres, so I'd be worried about condensation building up inside the ducting, running back down and dripping out onto the hob.

Would this be a legit concern? Can you get high powered extraction motors that can make the distance, or would a recirculating fan be the best option?

The slab of concrete is pretty thick (at least 2" we think) so will be a pain to work with regardless, but i'd be fine cutting into this to recess a rectangle recirculating fan (with lights) if needs be, but it would be a shame to waste the opportunity with the current ducting if it can be repurposed. Unfortunately the slab is relatively low (around 1.62m from the floor) so not sure we could install anything that isn't recessed..

Any ideas?
aga.png

Sponsored Links
As a business we have installed many cast iron (and enamel steel) cookers on all fuels.