Telephone wiring problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a computer engineer and got called to an address with no internet access. I removed the front plate of the master socket but as I did this I notice only three cables were connected to the front plate, one of them was loose not connected to anything.

I connected the router to the test socket and sure enough it worked. The problem is another wire also fell out, so I don't know what the correct wiring diagram is to put all the cables back.

What I do have is this:-

3 - Orange White
5 - White with a blue stripe.

I have wired a couple of extensions in my own house before and do a lot of CAT5 wiring but I don't know what order to put back the two wires which fell out (and hopefully the cause of the problem).

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
blue with white needs to go to 2 you only need 3 wire for extension 2 and 5 and 3 for bell

There is another expension on the top floor too, which is confusing but thanks I will reconnect that wire and see what happens. I think I probably have to get my telephone engineer out I usually use in this situations like this but if I can fix it all the better.

Only need to connect to 2 and 5, doesn't matter which way round.

As long as the phone plug socket has the yellow blob in it (capacitor I think) it will ring without the third wire.

Sponsored Links

As long as the phone plug socket has the yellow blob in it (capacitor I think) it will ring without the third wire.
That means you will have two master sockets on one line. Not recommended as it can degrade the speech quality on a long line and can appear as a line fault during line testing. And some capacitors are grey, white or blue depending on manufacturer.

That means you will have two master sockets on one line. Not recommended as it can degrade the speech quality on a long line and can appear as a line fault during line testing. And some capacitors are grey, white or blue depending on manufacturer.