1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Texecom Premier 24 Door Contact

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by janieJones123, 20 Jan 2019.

  1. janieJones123

    janieJones123

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have just moved into a new property that has a Texecom Premier 24 system throughout. When I was scanning through the control panel and seeing the status of each zone, it tells me that the front door DC is "active". The front door is locked. So I decided to have a look at the door and frame and saw the contact on the frame, but a rolled up piece of paper fixed in with some sealant. I took a look at the back door and saw the same contact point on the frame, but instead a little black block in the door (pics attached). The status of the back door DC zone is fine. So is there something special about this little block?

    Thanks!

    Front Door Frame
    frontframe.jpg

    Front Door
    frontdoor.PNG

    Back Door
    back.PNG
     
  2. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The little black block is a magnet, it seems to be missing from your front door (this is why it shows as active all the time) It usually comes in the same plastic housing as the actual contact and can be screwed in place but perhaps there wasnt enough room to do this (every door is different) You just need to glue another magnet in place, just make sure you do a better job of it than the previous person.
     
  3. janieJones123

    janieJones123

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply scott1980.

    I was afraid it was something like that. Doing a Google search for door contacts, I cant seem to find the same type as the one I have. They are almost all the visible contact points. Is it possible to get replacement magnets from DIY stores usually?
     
  4. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,275
    Thanks Received:
    243
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look on ebay for flush door contact.
     
  5. janieJones123

    janieJones123

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks to all who replied and helped here.

    An update; So i bought a couple of replacement door contacts and replaced the old gate contact, and installed the magnet contact on the door where there wasnt one. I wired up the gate the same as what was there. However, going through the zones I can still see that the front door is coming up as Active. I have checked and the magnet should line up and be at a good distance. Is there something else i need to do, or what am I likely to have done wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  6. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,797
    Thanks Received:
    1,055
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ....did you take the magnet out of the housing ? As some brands work different in how the magnet is set eg turn the magnet 90 degrees in the frame now check the zone
     
  7. janieJones123

    janieJones123

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, I'll give that a try. I bought Honeywell AC033 (ALA-HONEYWELL-AC033) contacts on ebay. This may sounds silly, but can the magnet be too close? I see the operating gap is 15mm.

    I'll take a pic of the wiring and attach it here.
     
    Last edited: 20 Aug 2019 at 1:52 PM
  8. janieJones123

    janieJones123

    Joined:
    26 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just checked with a spare contact, and I can hear the gate closing when I bring the magnet (in its housing) close. And yes, as you say @sparkymarka , it only works when the magnet is 90 degrees (which the currently installed one is). Maybe the one I've installed is a dud. Will try replacing it with the one I can definitely hear.
     
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,797
    Thanks Received:
    1,055
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Different brands ....change both contact and magnet ..BUT if your not even confident of taking the panel lid off then your going to have to pay for a engineer visit
     
Loading...

Share This Page