1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

The Galaxy Mk7 Keypad fault xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by BigDick, 29 Jan 2013.

  1. BigDick

    BigDick

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi just put a Galaxy Mk7 Keypad on to an old alarm in a shop but all that is on the lcd is xxxxxxxxxxxxxx can any one help please :cry:
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. oasistechnical

    oasistechnical

    Joined:
    26 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it usually means lost comms from end station,

    soft reset should cure it, and new battery in end station.


    Oasis
     
  4. EightyTwo

    EightyTwo

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the address...
     
  5. oasistechnical

    oasistechnical

    Joined:
    26 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    82,
    if the system has been powered down for a long time it can, and i state can, lose settings.

    unless the system keypad has been removed or the rotary address switch played with losing address is really not an option.

    even if he fits a new keypad, it comes auto addressed as 0.

    change the battery, soft start the panel and then see what happens, but be aware all galaxy panels are engineeer tamper reset only, so if you remove the end station cover you will generate a tamper alert.

    the other bit of advice is to find a local firm that will come out and do it for you,

    what model is the panel, not the keypad, as that will be a CO37 or CO38
    the main box, (end station) this info would be helpful.

    Oasis

    and yes we do Galaxy !!!
     
  6. EightyTwo

    EightyTwo

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, Oasis. I didn't mean to offend or suggest that you were wrong :oops:

    I didn't know where the keypad had come from - it might have been a "previously enjoyed" one too...
     
  7. oasistechnical

    oasistechnical

    Joined:
    26 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    82
    thats ok mate, no insult intended, and yep i undersant that the keypad could have been `previously enjoyed item` !!

    Oasis
     
  8. BigDick

    BigDick

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi thanks for the advice have got the keypad to run but now when i put in the user code it says mod is missing i have removed one keypad as there was 2 on the alarm any advice
     
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,366
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you have the engineer code ? as you will have to enter engineer mode then exit and it should say modules before xx modules now xx ( one less than before) press enter.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. BigDick

    BigDick

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no i dont is there any way to reset
     
  12. BigDick

    BigDick

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there any way to default set the mk7 ad the g2-20 board thanks
     
  13. oasistechnical

    oasistechnical

    Joined:
    26 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if your panel tells you MOD MISSING it should also prompt you to press the star or hash key to accept removal of the device.

    ensure that the only keypad on the system is set at `0`
    or it might not find it

    any other probs please repost

    Oasis
     
  14. BigDick

    BigDick

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi thanks for the reply but it does not prompt me to press the star or hash key any advice would be welcome thanks
     
  15. EightyTwo

    EightyTwo

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, there is a way to default the Galaxy, but I'm afraid that I'm not going to put it on a public forum, sorry! :(
     
  16. BigDick

    BigDick

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there any way you could email it to me thanks
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page