Tiling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am removing tiling but the plaster skim coat is coming off -it seems to be blown - can I tile onto the rough coat of plaster underneath. Wall is solid block.

Sponsored Links
I am not an expert! But I can think of 3 things I would check out:

Using the tile adhesive to baulk out the gap to a depth beyond that recommended - if relevant in your case. It may weaken the bond by using more.

Bonding to the underlying plaster. You may need to reseal it. PVA solution or equivalent for the type of plaster you have.

Applying the adhesive to an uneven surface. Could be tricky spreading it off with a tool. Could leave deep pockets of adhesive where you push the tile in to fix and it sinks on one corner/side. Messy to get back out again due to suction.

Have you tried soaking the tiles through the grout? Not sure if this is really practical/advisable but I have cleaned cementious adhesive off the back of tiles for re-use by soaking in hot water. So it may loosen them a bit.

Can understand you not wanting it re-skimmed. You could easily be charged £200 for even a small area as they will want to committ a whole day.

Just some possible pointers. Someone feel free to correct me

the surface behind needs to be smooth, sound and flat. That being said it doesnt have to be perfect as in a finished plastered surface that you would paint. if the patches are not to great you can patch in with a cement and sand render. Wet the wall first, apply with a trowel so that its slightly proud. As it starts to go off, pull across it with a piece of batten, using the existing patches as a guide to get it to the same level. Leave it to dry and you have a good surface for tiling. Its inexpensive and easily done

Thermo

Sponsored Links