TV and rain

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Mother-in-Law has an analogue TV (circa 1996) which has recently been adapted to receive digital TV through a Freeview box and a new aerial on the roof. This work was done as part of the digital switchover.

She is finding that whenever it rains, she cannot get a picture - just lines on the screen. Although I am a complete novice with regards to TVs, my gut feeling is that this may be caused by water getting into a connection in the aerial somewhere. The TV works perfectly when the weather is dry.

She is going to contact the digital switchover people again but I'd like to feel that I have an idea about what is going on for when they arrive.

Could any of you knowledgeable types please advise if my suspicions are right?

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
This can indeed happen, if the outer sheath of the coaxial cable chafes against something then water can enter and degrade the signal.
She should insist that the digital switch over people rectify this problem, no doubt she did not ask to go digital.

Wotan

Cowboy installations are common, even among so-called "professionals". If aerial cable goes down a tiled roof it should be clipped to prevent it from moving and chafing (as Wotan stated). The aerial connections should be fully waterproofed - something most installers can't be bothered to do.

Another possibility is that the aerial is pointing at trees. Wet leaves will greatly reduce the signal. In this case the answer is to remove the branches with leaves or move the aerial so it has a clear line of sight. If neither option is possible, try satellite TV instead (or in addition, for rainy days only).

one other point is, you don't necessarily need a new aerial, plus i can, in theory, be intally inside the loft !!

Sponsored Links