Tyrolean render on breeze block?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have an area of breeze block (blocked up window) that needs a Tyrolean render.

Is there any special kind of finish/preparation I need to do and how easy might it be to match the new render in with a surrounding area?

I'm a novice renderer and a woman, so don't know if this is going to be beyond me (sorry, but that is how I feel). No man around to advise or help!

Any advice gratefully received.

Sponsored Links
I have an area of breeze block (blocked up window) that needs a Tyrolean render.

Is there any special kind of finish/preparation I need to do and how easy might it be to match the new render in with a surrounding area?

I'm a novice renderer and a woman, so don't know if this is going to be beyond me (sorry, but that is how I feel). No man around to advise or help!

Any advice gratefully received.

How much are the blocks set back from the rest of the wall?

I presume the rest of the wall is Tyrolean on to flat render.
To match you will have to render and then Tyrolean, but to get teh texture the same and avoid it cracking will be hard.

Would it be an idea to render this window and leave it as a recessed feature?

If you still Tyrolean it (and you would not have to), matching it will not be so crucial. and you will be able to give it a couple of gos without making it proud of surrounding and looking worse.

Thoughts?

Less than 1/2" inset, so not possible to leave it as a recessed feature, see:-

I guess the rest of the wall is Tyrolean onto flat render, but I can't be sure because you can't see it.

I will have to Tyrolean it because it will look odd if I don't.

Sponsored Links
What, the whole wall? It is a gable end, so a huge undertaking. It doesn't have to be perfect, but a good match would do. In any case, in due course I will be painting the whole of the outside of the house.

This is a question that pops up from time to time on here.