Underpinning - mesh fibres in concrete

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

My architect has called up for mesh fibre concrete to be used to underpin one of my gable walls (building an extension alongside it).

I've never used this product before, nor can get hold of it locally from the usual building merchants (Jewsons, Travis Perkins, etc).

Has anyone got any experience in using this additive? I would assume that it could bulk out the cement and will have to add gallons of plasticiser to make it workable?

The building inspector has simply said that as long as the structural guy is happy then he is. The structural guy was a waste of time and non committal!!!
I was trying to find out the type of fibre required. (steel, polymers, etc)

Any assistance would be great. :)

Robin

Sponsored Links
We do a lot of flooring and yarding with fibers added.
Less chance of cracking.

Also should reduce the chances of frost spalling.

Spend a day on a breaker where fibers are holding the stuff together and you won't be saying it has no purpose.
You need extra joules to rip it up!

Sponsored Links
Foundations are not floors though

Can you give a reasoned technical explanation as to why you think they are useless in a foundation?

Some of the foundations we do are finished floors!

Because foundation concrete for underpinning does not get affected by shrinkage cracks, does not get affected by frost, does not get affected by tension, does not need a finished face and does not need any sort of controlled set.

Plus we've been concreting without fibres and without problems for a few hundred years now

What about compressive forces? Shear forces? Ground movement forces?
Fibered concrete will with stand much higher compressive forces before failing!

There is no evidence to suggest fibers are useless in an underpinned foundation.

Pre cast concrete beam deflection where fibers are added is increased so what does that tell you?