unusual fault

I wish the picture was a little clearer - I hope I'm wrong in thinking that there might be some red wires going into the earth bar?

Do electricians have to be tested for colour-blindness?

I think you are right on the reds in the earth bar.

They do need to be tested for colour blindness on many formal training schemes but not all. In this case though it seems the problem is total blindness :LOL:

Sponsored Links
for goodness sake chaps.

yes the lad has made a mess of it, thats why I'm posting here.

but to say there are live's connected to earth is just as ridiculus as the chaps wiring because there would be know way anything would work.

the lad has used a thick red wire cable instead of the green to earth it.

right now I feel like pulling it apart myself and sorting it out properly.

as a physicist I know enough about electrical principles but not the regulations and are seeking another profesional repair. just bare in mind I have paid money to have this work done albeit a year or so ago and it does not make for a nice read when folk are choosing to trash.

after the feedback thus far I have pretty much made my mind up to have it removed and installed again with lives red, neutrals black and earths accordingly. all protected under RCD and not certain ring mains.

thanks to the helpers

but to say there are live's connected to earth is just as ridiculus as the chaps wiring because there would be know way anything would work.

I think you will find what was said was "reds connected to earth bar"

Not live's

Sponsored Links

Which should encourage you to consider what else "the lad" did which might make the installation less than safe and certainly not compliant with wiring regulations. This is not simply a case of incorrect wiring colours. This installation may be dangerous. If you consider that red's used for circuit protective conductors is not very important then I strongly suggest you do not attempt any repairs or rewire, physicist or not.