Upholstery for window bench sofa

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm making a window bench sofa. Need some advice regarding the upholstery. It's my first time so want to get it right. I was thinking to get a thin MDF board then using spray glue attach the foam to the MDF board. Then get my chosen fabric and spray some glue over the foam and then attach the fabric on top pulling over the folds to the underside of the MDF and then stapling it. Is this method correct or do I not need to use glue between fabric and foam? Is there anything else I should put between fabric and foam?

Sponsored Links
John,
Do not use glue between foam and top fabric.
Some good instructions here:
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-upholster-a-chair-seat/
SFK

Thanks for that link. So the fabric needs to essentially float on top of the foam without any glue, held in place but the tension of the stapling right? What about using quilt batting? I read on a few articles that it's good to use quilt batting between the fabric and the foam. What is the advantage of using quilt batting? If i use quilt batting, do I spray glue that to the foam and then have the fabric floating on top?

John,
My experience is v limited. Before now I have done fabric over foam on wood (like you were suggesting).

But yes, top fabric needs to essentially float on top of the foam without any glue. It is held in place but the tension of the stapling right. The two move separately.

I always see quilt batting as giving a soft but firmer layer over the foam. The two different properties make the cushion feel more expensive, as here:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Bench-Cushion/

And in the link I sent you earlier they use a dome of "upholstery batting" under the "foam" to make the cushion have a rounded shape.