Uponor UFH issues

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I was called out to look at a flat with new tenant who had no heating. I think it had been empty for a while prior to her moving in. I'm an electrician by the way. Plumber had already been and told the agents it was my problem!

UFH wiring centre (C-33) i think not seeming to be doing a lot no led's lit on room stats. push fit terminals on everything so difficult to get a voltage reading off anything. noticed that the external programmer's (i-35) wiring was in the wrong 2 terminals swapped them to the correct terminals and off it all went. Happy day's, nice easy call out i thought!

2 days later tenant is without heating again. The plumber had mentioned about linking out controller or something in another one in a flat in same block. I linked out the programmer terminals, everything fired up beautifully. told tenant i needed a new programmer and heating would work on constant for now just use the room stats for control! all good i thought, just need a new I-35.

2 days later (yesterday) tenant texts, she has no heat again. I have a good poke about realise that L and N are reversed on the feed in to wiring centre. shouldn't make a difference but thought i'd swap it so its correct anyway. It then fired back in to life. I told her to text me this morning and let me know if it was still on. It wasn't! I told her to try turning it off and on again to reset it. to my surprise, this worked, she's happy and can do that again if she needs heat. Now i need to work out what's wrong with it!

So my question to you is.

Whats wrong with it??

PCB in the wiring centre?
Some kind of thermal cut out operating that i can't see?

Thank you in advance!!

Sponsored Links
Depending on the age of the C33 it could be suffering from relay sticking/failure - have a search on google.