Use of cement and gypsum on victorian houses

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Am I right in saying my house that was built in 1898 should only be repaired with lime mortar and lime plaster? Is this to allow the building to breathe as opposed to cement based products which can trap moisture in the wall and eventually damage the wall

Sponsored Links
I am no expert but 1898 wasn't that long ago.
Portland cement had been around for 50 years by then

What is the wall construction? Typically here (in the many ~1898 buildings) it is either plaster on laths, over timber studs fixed back-to-back for interior walls and to stone/exterior wall lining or; 'float and skim' plaster (about 20mm thick) onto brick. In either case it's fine to use plasterboard.. no problems over brick, and the exterior stone wall can still breathe (or whatever it does) behind the stud cavity. What you don't want to be doing though is using cement on products on the exterior sandstone (and probably other stone of that era?).

If it's a listed building you may only allowed to use traditional/lime products, depending on the grading.

Most of the houses that I work in (west London, as a decorator) were constructed around that period. The bricks used are a combination of red rubbers and yellow stock bricks.

The internal plastering on the external walls would originally have been the crumbly horse hair base coat and then a skim coat. As you are probably aware the plaster has a finite life and eventually needs to be ripped off and replastered. To the best of my knowledge, none of those properties has been replastered with lime.

The moisture in the bricks following rain is supposed to evaporate outwards.

I guess that lime plaster is more forgiving of condensation but most people use wallpapers or emulsions that are fairly waterproof anyway.

Sponsored Links
You are absolutely correct forget a cement base mortar.

The info you need ~