1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Using decking boards to clad a shed

Discussion in 'In the Garden' started by nedo, 29 Aug 2015.

1. nedo

nedo

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Complete novices, hence what may seem like a no-brainer sort of question to the experienced.We are considering using decking boards to clad our shed - is there an issue with this? Have scoured the Internet for advice but the can only find info for Tongue and Groove and feather edge boards.
    Also, my husband is planning to fix them vertically, rather than horizontally; is there a reason timber tends to be fixed horizontally?

2. Sponsored Links
  3. Crystalclear

Crystalclear

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Oooo, nice. Any plans on coating it with colour?

Vertical is perfect in any country with more rain than sun; water runs down, and not into the wood; the rain would have to push it in to make a difference.

I've chosen to build a from wall fence using decking; not only is the wood 'thicker' than it's rival planed wood, but the look is beautiful. The guy down the street asked 132 questions and did the same. :) it's been 4 yrs now, and it's looking as good as new.

4. Boards need to be laid horizontally & overlap so that water runs off them rather than between them hence the reason for using T&G or shiplap.

The reason that sheds (and cladding in general) runs horizontally is because it works!

5. So all the horizontal cladding, sheds, outhouses in all the world have got it wrong?!

6. big-all

big-all

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    all depends on construction method
    single skin then always horizontal to reduce the chance off penetration and driving rain or capillary action getting through
    vertical and overlap/txg can work but a good chance off penetration especially towards the bottom