Vaillant Turbomax pressure gauge

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, newbie here,

I have a Vaillant Turbomax VUW GB and the pressure gauge slowly goes down over the months and an engineer comes in and adjusts the two valves underneath and re-pressurises the unit. My question is - is the pressure going down normal behaviour?

Secondly, why - depending on the company and/or engineer - do they announce some other part needs replacing as the unit worked perfectly well up to then. The last engineer said the flue exiting the building needed replacing. And the engineer before that (after tapping the main gas valve with a screwdriver - and jamming it) said the gas valve was broken and needed replacing.

Reason I'm asking is that the pressure gauge went to zero on Mon and I got the engineer in and he turned on the hot tap and then said the entire unit (pointing to the pressure gauge) needed replacing. I pointed to the two valves and said that's all need adjusting. Which he did and pressure is now at 1 BAR. Are there any honest gas engineers left out there?

Sponsored Links
Why do you have such bad views on engineers whom you don't name?

Where did you find them?

What kind of work do you do?

Tony

Are they charging you for their visits?

Tony

Are they charging you for their visitsTony

The Landlord is being charged, but that don't mean they can't keep on gouging him for extra revenue. I am getting in an independent contractor to inspect the unit (on my own money). My question is, is it usual for the water pressure to decay over time?

Sponsored Links
Why do you have such bad views on engineers whom you don't name?

Where did you find them?

What kind of work do you do?

I may well name them depending on the outcome of certain issues.

I didn't find them, they have a contract with the Landlord.