Vapour control layer and celotex loft quickie.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

I've battened 50mm Celotex from Wickes onto my rafters (Product Code: 190544) . But should I have a vapour control layer?
Also do I need to keep an air gap between the external wall and celotex?

Any help would be great thanks.

P.S. Any body know whats best to fill some gaps between chipboard flooring and celotex covered plasterboard? Pollyfilla maybe?

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert and prepared to be shot down but I think your vapour protection should be installed as final layer negative side I. E into house.

An air gap will always help with u value.

Thanks for your help, it's much appreciated. This should be a pic of where I'm upto so far. I wasn't sure if the celotex foil would stop moisture or even really the purpose.
Is it to basically stop damp/condensation lingering around the wood structure and rotting it.
Thanks

Thanks for your help, it's much appreciated. This should be a pic of where I'm upto so far. I wasn't sure if the celotex foil would stop moisture or even really the purpose.
Is it to basically stop damp/condensation lingering around the wood structure and rotting it.
Thanks

The foil provides a vapour barrier; if you tape the joins between the boards you don't need an additional barrier.

The purpose of the vapour barrier is to prevent warm air inside the space penetrating into the cold space behind the insulation, and moisture condensing out of it onto the timber, etc.

Cheers
Richard

Sponsored Links
Thanks Richard. That's a perfect description. I added a couple of other pictures now.
So i can fill all gaps between the wall and the celotex with thin slithers of celotex and foil tap to fill all the gaps.
I was thinking of putting some thin bits of wood onto the wall and fixxing celotex to it to insulate the outer wall. Is that a good idea do you know?