vauxhall combo 1.7 d 2003

• Thread starter mickyyoungplumb
  • Start date
M

mickyyoungplumb

My van failed an mot today on a few bulbs which i can obviously sort out and 2 front wishbone bushes.
I got a quote for £230 to fix it all. £40 per bush labour, with the bushes costing £60 each, the rest on the bulbs.
First thing i did was go euro car parts and i can buy the bushes for £21!

I mean i dont mind a mark up but thats taking the **** especially as he is a friend of a friend. So im thinking how hard is it to change is itto change wishbone bushes and what tools are required???

im hands on as im a plumbing and heating engineer. Is this task beyond me??
or should i just buy the bushes and get them fitted elsewhere as i obviously cannot trust them.

Sponsored Links
Wishbone bushes aren't the easiest things to sort, due to the fact that the wishbone has to be removed from the car.....quite significant suspension work, really.
Once the wishbone is on the bench then its not to difficult to knock out the old bushes and draw in the new ones - again thats quite a skilled job unless you've done it before.
Due to the fact that access is poor and the vehicle ideally needs to be up on a lift to make things simpler, I don't think the quote is too bad.
John :)

I think the labour quote is good but the fact he is telingvme the bushes are £50 plus vat when any joe public can buy then for £21 including vat at eurocarparts tajes the **** and makes me not wan to give him work. So he is making £40 profit on each bush alone.

Price hiking on parts is completely the norm, and I justify that because:
1) I have to go and collect them (including replacements if they aren't correct)
2) I have to spend a great deal in order to qualify for my (considerable) trade discount.
He may allow you to supply the parts yourself, or you are completely free to go elsewhere if you aren't happy.