WASHER DRYER NO LONGER DRYING

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Indesit WD12S Washer Dryer has stopped drying. The drum spins round and it works it's way through the programmes as it should, but it doesn't seem to get hot during the drying sequence.

Now I'm no expert but to me this doesn't sound like anything too bad, maybe a thermostat gone? The question is, is this something I can change myself, where could I get parts from and how would I identify the thermostat (if it is that)?

Any advice/comments muchly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
it probably is the stat that has gone, BUT the question is why.
may i suggest you read this

Thank you for your reply Breezer, I had already read your suggestions whilst browsing the forum for any related threads. I have been through all your suggested stages and am at the juncture where I have to decide whether to get somebody in or attempt to fix it myself, hence the question.

Does a stat not deteriorate or break down of its own accord?

Is it not worth a try at replacing the thermostat before I get somebody in?

no. as i said why did it trip.

it may be the heater "area" is full of fluff causing the heater to over heat, changing the stat will only be of no use since it will go again, or if it is fluff, it may well catch fire.

it could also be the fan, wrong speed not running,

it could be the condensor

it could be the...............

you see my point? there are so many could be's that unless you know what you are looking for you wont have a clue.

also you have to know how to take them apart, (more to the point how to put them back together)

why not call indesit, get one of their guys out, you can get an independant, but all too often they do not use genuine parts, and sometimes "cure the disease not the cause"