1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Washing machine Hotpoint Aquarius WT540

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by gogo2020, 20 Jan 2015.

  1. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder if anyone can advise on my problem.

    When I switch the machine on, all the lights flash for anything from a couple of times up to 5 seconds. Then only start ON/OFF button is flashing and machine does not work. After an hour it could work without any issues,then again same story.
    Any ideas,thoughts what could be wrong.
    Thank you very much.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is usual for all the lights to flash briefly when 1st switched on then only the on/off to continuosly flash until you select a programme but it sounds like you have a power issue, any good with a soldering iron?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I will manage it if you just give a bit more details,where to look at.
    For instance tonight it washed perfectly! I loaded another one and tried again - it did not work!
     
  5. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to locate the main control board, not the front fascia panel control board though it might be worth checking connections are firmly in place, will be at the rear of the machine, bottom right corner.
    1st check is that all connectors are firmly in place, machines can work connections loose.
    If not, remove the pcb board.
    Make a note of where all the connectors go, photos usually help too!

    Inspect the board and note any obvious damage or signs of burn marks, corroded connections etc.. on both sides of the pcb board and inside its plastic housing.
    You could put a photo of both sides of the board for us to inspect if unsure what your looking for.

    If you need help getting the board out let me know.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    C17 cap is faulty on the pcb. Look at the sticky at the top there's a link how to change it. Cost 50p from maplins and a soldering iron.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This morning all lights flashed a second or 2 and went off after turning the main switch from the wall ON,then nothing was flashing. I did it several times still the same? Any ideas,probably after 1-2 days will work again.
     
  8. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you need to remove the control bd from the rear to find the culprit!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a busy Sunday,finally had time to get that main board out.There was nothing wrong with the capacitor! Even so i replaced it with 1000mF 10V.Put everything back on and NO Change at all ! It might be something else wrong!
    Any ideas?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would have been a good idea to have taken a photo of both sides of the board and post them on here.

    Just because a cap is not leaking or bulging does not mean its ok, these are just visual symptoms of a very bad cap.

    What is the condition of the front fascia control board like? These are known to get wet and corrode tracks/connections, perhaps check both sides of the board and connectors are firmly seated.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here there are some pictures:
     
  13. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Photos not showing
     
  14. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  15. yardie

    yardie

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those photos aren't very high quality and really need to see the whole board, both sides.
    However the board looks good from what can be seen, nothing obvious sticking out.
     
  16. gogo2020

    gogo2020

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I open and checked frond fascia board,did not find any damages rust or loose connections,also inspected a door lock - nothing wrong there.
    I will upload pictures later. Still not rectified the issue.

    Hiya, I posted my query a while ago now, and haven't had any replies. Washing is building up and I'm getting quite desperate.
    Can anyone help please?
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page