Water hammer from tap

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A few months after fitting a twin lever ceramic disc type mixer tap to the kitchen sink now when any hot tap is run upstairs in the bathroom a huge vibration is set up in the hot side of the sink tap and the tap starts running. Holding the tap handle reduces this so it is obviously the disc that is the cause of this, reducing the pressure doesn't really help. the hot water is fed from a combi boiler but everything has worked fine for years before the tap was fitted

I cannot separate the tap mechanism to see if the disc has broken or anything, would you go for changing the tap or fitting an arrestor, there is no noise whenever the cold taps are run

Sponsored Links
I am Not an expert on this, but since not one single expert has replied since you posted this, suddenly they will all be here like London Busses, 3 in a row going to the same place!

Water hammer is usually caused by a sudden closure of a tap, if your bathroom sink hot water tap is the cause of it, then I would be looking into that rather than your new kitchen taps, however, I am not ruling out a possible problem with your kitchen ceramic valve, that may have become far too soft and turns by itself under water hammer or pressure disturbance.

Does your bathroom use 1/4 turn ceramic taps as well, as these are the taps that close water flow more suddenly than multiturn rubber washer ones, your new kitchen leaver tap should not feel too soft to turn, if it does then the fault may be there for self opening and not being able to resist hammer forces. Even if the hammering is unavoidable, none of your taps should self turn.

but yes if you can't find the cause of your water hammer and cure the hammer problem, you may well have to use an arrester.