Waterproofing house from flower bed (Do I need a membrane?)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Right,

I was clearing some blown render from the outside of the house (old stone-built) and that got me thinking about the damp wall.

We have a flower bed against the wall, no idea how long it's been there - we've only lived here 18 months. As far as I can see there's no barrier between the soil and the wall.

I can't help thinking that a pile of damp soil against an external wall won;t be helping the damp inside.

Would it be worth digging out the soil and putting something between the bed and the house to keep it "dry"?

What exactly would I need? (I am a total novice at this sort of thing, so speak slowly!) Looking at some posts about damp garages there was talk of impermeable membranes and that got me thinking.

Thanks for any advice

Giles

Sponsored Links
I'd go for an air gap if it's possible. So much easier to maintain/inspect.

You're going to be excavating it anyway, so why not excavate a bit more and install a barrier to retain the soil away from the wall.

Don't forget to aim for external ground level adjacent to the wall at least 150mm below dpc (if there is one).

I'd go for an air gap if it's possible. So much easier to maintain/inspect.

You're going to be excavating it anyway, so why not excavate a bit more and install a barrier to retain the soil away from the wall.

Don't forget to aim for external ground level adjacent to the wall at least 150mm below dpc (if there is one).

Thanks for the advice.

I think there isn't a DPC in this bit of the house - it's rather ancient - 3ft thick stone walls. Hence it's prone to mildew inside.

The bed's not huge - about 2m along the wall by 60cm out. There's then a concrete path. Could I add an air gap by putting something against the wall that doubles as barrier and air gap - bricks or blocks of some sort (or gravel?)

Sorry for noddy questions, I am a total beginner.