Drying out time (repairing blown render)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

first post and I'll make it quick.

A patch of render on the outside of the house has blown.

A friendly builder advised that I should remove all the loose render, brush it out, let the stone dry out and put on 4:1 sand cement mortar.

I've got the loose stuff out but am not sure how long to leave the now-exposed stone to dry

Is it days? Weeks? Months? how do I know when it is dry?

Also as it's rapidly becoming winter and I live in wet Wales, what should I cover the exposed stone with to protect it?

I have another question about flower beds against the house wall - I'll post that in building forum.

Thanks for any advice - I'm a total novice but times are tough and I need to learn!

Giles

Sponsored Links
Depending of the depth of existing render, give it a damp down then a scratch coat of 4-1 with waterproofer leaving roughly 8mm from surface, let dry overnight then a 5-1 mix with plasticiser apply flush rule off then a rub over with a sponge when taking up.

Whats this about letting the wall dry out? is it running with water?

you can get plasticiser waterproofer.

(it works for me)
clean out the patch if its dry over the next day or two
then happy days first off
youll need small bags of plastering sand depends on the number of patchs
bag of cement and water proofer
if you want a lime top coat then a bag of lime too
scrach coat of 4:1 mix with a small dash of water proofer in it
start of by weting the wall off with a hose pipe then start laying it on working it in too the adges well and covering all the stone/brick
make shore you have left enough room for the top coat
let it go (2hours) then run some trowel lines in the scrach coat as a key for the top coat
leave it over night