What am i doing wrong?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ive been trying to plaster our kitchen.

Im a tiler by trade. Ive watched many plasterers, they make it look easy.

It isnt!

Ive now done one big wall (will be mostly hidden by units), 2 small walls and a little bit of ceiling.

I still have 3 big walls and the main ceiling to do.

I was hoping that by now i'd have more of a grasp on it, but i dont seem to be getting better.

Im reasonably competant, can turn my hand to most things, but with plastering im either doing it wrong, or just dont have the ability.

I always seem to be left with lots of little low patches, maybe around 1-2" diameter.

Im skimming over flat walls just to try and make a nicer surface for paint.

Im applying PVA, letting it go tacky, them mixing up.
I think im getting the mix right, a bit like angel delight, plaster into water, mix untill lump free.

Ive tried doing one coat, and 2 coats, same result.

I put it on, then leave it 10 mins or so.
Then give it a bit of a flatten and fill any gaps and holes before the plaster in the bucket goes off.
At this stage i have trowel marks, ripples, little bumps etc.

I then leave it another 10 mins or so, brush edges and flatten again.
I tepeat this a couple of times, with 10 min gaps.

Then i damp it down and flatten off again. At this point all the low spots become really obvious as the fat im taking off goes into the low spots and is lighter than the rest of the wall.

At this point i tend to panic, try and brush over low spots, work over them, trying to smooth them out or fill them with whats coming off on the trowel.
After trying this for a while i realise its not getting any better and leave it.

The low spots arent that low, i dont know how bad it will look when painted, but i assume painting the walls will make it look worse, not better.