What Heating/HW System should i get based on my needs?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am about to buy a 4 bed detached house - living there will be me the missus and the 2.5 yr old nipper. No more kids planned or UNplanned!

will be converting the integral garage at some point and hope to put in a multi-use room extra lounge + shower and toilet that can also be used as a guest room when we have visitors.

the house currently has an old floorstanding potterton boiler and is a gravity system with a galvanised(last legs) water tank in the loft.

I have no intention to ever convert the loft as we will have more than enough space for our needs.............................so

My question is based on the above what system should we go for
im no expert but i will outline what i think the pros and cons are.

1.Direct replacement of the gravity system- New Tank(polyethylene) Boiler and rads (possibly new cylinder?)

Pros- Cheaper less hassle, will meet our current and growing needs?

cons- potential of leak from tank, Cant really use the loft for much though not likely to ever do so

2.Combi Boiler get rid of tank and cylinder, possibly put electric shower in guest room shower to prevent issues of water pressure if 2 people shower at the same time( This will not be a very common occurence right now but as the boy gets older probably will be)

Pros- get rid of cylinder and cold tank therefore less likely to have a leak
electric shower is back up for hot water showers if boiler fails, cheaper?

cons-electric shower is more expensive to run, will a combi do a decent job in a house this size?

3. System Boiler system- mains direct into a cylinder + No Water tank

pros- High mains pressure at all times from all taps and showers, No cold tank to worry about : leaks and could use the loft if i Ever wanted to

Cons- Expensive system, could pressurized system be more dangerous?
more costly to service and repair?