What Type of Render Mix?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I'm a total newbie but I'm attempting to do a little DIY around my home.

I've ripped off my skirting boards, and some of the plaster came off with it.
Have a look at the attached image.
IMG_2189.JPG

So now, before I affix the new skirting board, I reckon I need to patch up the wall.

What would be my best option and how would I go about doing it?

Do I need to render the wall?
Do I need to bond the wall (even though I don't know what that is)?
Can I buy a ready made mix that I can apply?

I don't need it to be neat. I just need it to stick to the wall and harden, so I can screw some screws in there to keep the skirting in place.

What can I do to the wall to proceed?

Appreciate the help,

JH

Sponsored Links
So now, before I affix the new skirting board, I reckon I need to patch up the wall.

What would be my best option and how would I go about doing it?

Do I need to render the wall?
Do I need to bond the wall (even though I don't know what that is)?
Can I buy a ready made mix that I can apply?

I don't need it to be neat. I just need it to stick to the wall and harden, so I can screw some screws in there to keep the skirting in place.

What can I do to the wall to proceed?

Appreciate the help,

JH

It perhaps depends how tall the skirting board you want to put on is.

If it's tall, then you may get away with not filling at all. Your screws could go through higher up pulling in flat where there is plaster behind.

If it's quite short, then you will need to fill, otherwise your screws will allow the bottom to be pulled in.
If it was me filling, I'd use Bonding plaster and fill more of it level with the wall. Don't go right to floor, leave a small gap.
A bit of render (sand/cement), or a ready mix from a DIY could both be used for the filling either. It will be hidden behind the skirting board.
Depends what you find easiest. You certainly don't need to render/plaster the full wall.