Which heaters?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

As a novice I need an advice.
For a room size 4x3.7 m with no central (gas) heating what it is BETTER and CHEAPER the heaters that run as written “from 2p per minute”, or these convector Heaters (lets say of 2Kw)?

Or do you know others convenient electric heaters (e.g. these infrared heaters)?

Please keep in mind I `ve got an economy seven tariff.

Much appreciated your help

Sponsored Links
Many people will recommend storage heaters, I would not, they are expensive to operate, inefficient and generally a pile of poo.

What is the room to be used for?

You are right. I do not want storage heaters.
It is my lounge.

The problem you have is that any form of electric heating is expensive, convector heaters are a potential fire hazard and most other forms of electric heating are inefficient.

The best form are tube heaters that can be bought in various lengths, ie: 1ft, 2 ft, 3 ft, 4ft and 6ft. These are rated at 60W per foot and are remarkably efficient.

However the surface of these gets very hot, so they would need to be boxed in, with vents obviously, so they did not pose a hazard to anyone.

In the situation you are in though, this is not the best solution.

Would I be right in thinking that you are not in a position to have Gas central heating installed?

To be honest this is the best form of heating currently available outside of Iceland, however there is a hybrid method ytou can use.

Buy one or two radiators and install them into your room, connect the pipework as you would for normal central heating. These pipes will then rn back to an Immersion heater whose sole purpose is to run these radiators. A small pump would be required to be put on the system to move the water around, and the heater element could be on a programmer so that it only heats the water at night, and perhaps for an hour prior to you getting home from work.