Which "push-fit" items to plumb in a washing machi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a 72 year-old novice and would like advice on which push-fit fittings are required/to use when plumbing in a washing machine. The machine is a used Indesit A1635 Advantage and comes with its hot, cold and drain hoses.

Under my kitchen sink I have 1/2" copper hot and cold water supply lines which go directly to the sink taps plus what looks to be about a 2" plastic drain pipe.

I have the confidence to tackle the job but I know nothing about push-fit plumbing. My question - if somebody is kind enough to answer it - is, which fittings (and any special tools) do I need to purchase to connect the hot and cold hoses to the copper supply pipes and how do I connect the drain hose (which is straight and has a simple flange on its end) to the plastic drain pipe?

Is there anything I should be aware of regarding fitting difficulties?

I do not know the correct names of the fittings I probably need but I would basically expect them to be called things like: tee joints, valves, washers, etc. As I hope to obtain these on ebay, I would like the best description possible, please.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks - in advance.

Sponsored Links
Greengo, I mean no offence, but you're looking for something approaching an entire plumbing course in a nutshell.

Principally, you need appliance valves for the hot and cold services, and a washing machine trap for the waste. However, depending on the existing set-up you might need a plethora of sundry bits and pieces to make the job a good one.

My main advice is not to buy anything from eBay - you'd be better off approaching your local plumbers' merchant at a slack time (e.g. 2pm), and soliciting their help in selecting components.

may I just echo Softus' words here...

DO NOT BUY YOUR FITTINGS FROM EBAY!!!!!!