Wires coming out of Texecom SC-W wireless sensor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I’m a newbie here so please be gentle! I’ve inherited a Texecom system that I had to perform a factory default reset because there were errors that couldn’t be cleared without an engineer code. This was due to a fault on a window sensor. Whether or not that was the right thing to do, who knows! I should state that before the reset was performed, everything was working fine before this.

Anyway, onto the problem. I noticed that the front door contact SC-W sensor, which is a wireless device - Has two wires coming out of it (red/orange). Is there any reason for there to be wires coming out of a sensor that is wireless? There are no shutters on the premises. There is no visible magnet piece anywhere to detect the opening and closing motion of the door. I’m assuming it was set to shock detection, which is confusing because people do tend to knock on doors, so I have my doubts. I just need a bit of guidance before I either cut those wires, and reposition the censor with a new magnet. Or just leave it and buy a new censor and program that in, and just pretend the old one isn’t there!

Everything else is working - The window sensor previously mentioned and the PIR. It’s only the front door I need to resolve now.

System is a premiere Elite v2 something (I think) Circa 2015 model (this was the date on the panel after factory reset l) Photo of the panel attached

Thanks in advance for the help.

Sponsored Links
sounds like the Impaq SC-W has something wired to it like a door contact.

follow the wires.

sounds like the Impaq SC-W has something wired to it like a door contact.

follow the wires.
Thanks for the reply!

Sorry I don’t understand. Do you mean the magnetic piece? I’m just trying to get my head round as to why it may have been set up this way.

Unfortunately the wiring is tucked away to the point I’m unable to see where it leads to, without destroying the door frame.